Basics and Background

As I said in my first post, I feel that time is running out for those of us living in most of the world. What I want to do with this blog is to teach women what it means to “Prep” and be a “Prepper”.

First, what makes me feel I can teach women? Well, besides being a woman! My husband and I started prepping after 9/11, like a lot of other people did. My husband had been interested in Survivalism when I met him in 2000, but it didn’t become an imperative until after the attacks on U.S. soil. It was some time after we started that my husband ran across the word “Prepper” and we started applying it to ourselves. To my understanding there are people who still call themselves “Survivalists” and others who use the term “Prepper”. They all have the same goal, to survive and thrive after some sort of breakdown in our current civilization, be it from a natural disaster, governmental collapse or whatever. As I understand it, the main reason for the change in terminology is the negative image associated with Survivalists being the scary people, holed up in a mountain strong-hold, with enough guns and ammunition to arm a medium sized country and enough food to match. While Peppers have pretty much the same the same things, we don’t have the image of being angry paranoid people ready to fight the government to the death. Yet. Back to us, we were actually invited to be on the first season of the TV show “Doomsday Preppers”, but we turned them down for reasons I’ll cover later. When my husband first told me about his interest in survivalism right after we met, I was intrigued and willing to learn more. I’ve learned over the years, most wives/girlfriends/significant others want nothing to do with it for a number of reasons. I disagree with that because, we are a team (to use an overused cliche) and the survival of our family/families is both our responsibilities.

On to The Basics!! To start: most American families have only about 3 days worth of food at any one time. That won’t work if you’re facing even a week long disaster, say a blizzard or flooding. Think about the run up to an impending natural disaster, like an approaching hurricane. Every time something like that happens, the local news shows grocery store shelves that have been cleaned out and lines of cars at gas stations waiting to fill up. To be blunt, that is stupid, idiotic and dangerous. If you are the first to the store, you’re in luck, if you can’t get off work until late, your kids will go hungry after your 3 days worth of food runs out. So, how do you get around this? You stock up BEFORE there’s a threat and while you have months or years of time to do it! Simple, easy and absolutely NO stress! Next time you are grocery shopping and you see canned vegetables on sale, say, 10 for $10 (I wish!!) don’t just buy enough for the week, buy 10 or 20! Do NOT buy what you won’t eat or drive your budget into the toilet, but you have to change your mindset from short-term to more long-term. I mean it when I said, “do NOT buy what you won’t eat”, when we first started prepping 15 years ago every place we looked suggested laying in pounds and pounds of beans and rice. That’s great, but we don’t regularly eat beans and rice! We don’t really like beans and rice!! That being said, you will have to make some changes, like, you will have to buy more non-perishable foods: canned goods and boxed foods. If you’re electricity is out, for whatever reason, and you live in a warmer climate, you won’t be able to keep your perishables in the fridge, but there are some ways to work around that, too. Companies like Mountain House and Wise Foods sell dehydrated or freeze dried foods, but those can get insanely expensive and depending on how much you buy can take up a lot of room.

Alright, ladies, I’m going to leave this here for today. Please, leave me a comment and tell me what you think or ask questions.

Leave a Reply

