Alternative First Aid

I feel I left my last post on this subject with a lack of useful information on what can be used when the stores have been cleaned out. However, I can not and will not say that this herb or that herb can “‘cure”, “heal” or “treat” anything. The AMA has those words copyrighted and since I am not a member, I cannot  use them. Yep. It’s true, sadly.

For over 2 decades I have used Tea Tree Oil to deal with a number of skin problems. I was first introduced to it by my late mother when my son, who was 2 or 3 years old at the time, was stung on the ear by a bee. We were a few blocks from their house at the time it happened and by the time we walked up there, his poor little ear was so swollen it was ready to split. My older sister sat my son on a high stool and held him still while mom dabbed tea tree oil on his ear. Within 5 minutes the only way you could tell something had happened was a tiny red mark where he was stung. He couldn’t lay on that side that night when he went to bed, but that was it! The swelling was gone, the pain was gone and so was the itching. About 5 days later we had to put more tea tree oil on his ear because it was starting to itch again, but that was the end of it. When I got back home, I went to an herb store and bought a bottle and haven’t been without it since. Over the last 25 years I’ve found numerous things that tea tree oil can help with: acne (any kind), bug bites (chiggers too), infected cuts and scrapes and burns. To name a few. It also has a reputation for being anti-fungal and people report excellent results using it on athlete’s foot and other fungal infections. I can’t speak to that, since I’ve no direct experience using it for that. People have also reported the same results using it on skin parasites, but, again, I have no direct experience with this problem either. This is one essential oil I use “neat”, meaning not diluting it with a carrier oil (like sweet almond or grapeseed). Years ago a friend who is an Aromatherapist (someone trained in the use of essential oils) told me about mixing my tea tree oil half and half with lavender essential oil to lessen the chance of skin irritation from the tea tree oil. I know carry a tiny bottle of this mix, have a tiny bottle in my first aid kit and have another tiny bottle on the back of the bathroom sink. I use both the tea tree and lavender essential oils in my Intensive Herbal Salve that I make for using on cuts, scrapes and bruising. I do have back up bottles of both essential oils that will go with us when/if we have to leave our house if society breaks down.

You can find both Tea Tree and Lavender Essential Oils in pretty much any store, the Wal-Mart I shop in carries them, but I do NOT trust the quality and won’t buy my essential oils from any place other than a healthfood store or herb shop. Until recently, that is! I have discovered an online retailer called Eden’s Garden that sells multiple size bottles of 100’s of essential oils and carrier oils. The essential oils I have purchased from them have been of the highest quality and the prices are fantastic! I highly recommend them to you. My best friend started buying her essential oils from them and the only problem she’s had is they’ve sent her the wrong essential oils a couple times, Rosemary instead of Rose one time. She’s contacted them and they’ve sent her the correct oils immediately.

This has pretty much reached the limit of my knowledge of essential oils, since my training and experience is with the herbs, flowers and barks themselves. However, there are hundreds of classes, thousands of books and websites on the topic of essential oils.

AS ALWAYS!! Test any new essential oil on a small patch of skin to check for allergy or irritation. Do NOT use if you are pregnant or breast-feeding. Do not use on children under 2 years of age or on the very old, the very sick or very fragile. Do NOT use on deep wounds or burns. This information is not intended as or should be taken as medical advice and is not intended to treat or prevent any illness. Before using any natural remedy, consult your physician. (I think that covers everything….) OH! If you get stupid with an essential oil, don’t blame me. I just put the information up here, I can’t make you be a responsible adult or make you think before you do something dumb. Not my job.

Leave a Reply

