Learning Experience

I hope all of you in America had a good Thanksgiving.  Mine was OK except for a new Learning Experience, which is also the reason I haven’t written anything for a few days. It was while I was using my big Chef’s Knife to cube up 8 sweet potatoes. Yep, you know what I’m going to write next…. The last slice, of the last potato, and it rolled. The back edge of the (extremely sharp) knife came down on my left thumb. It wouldn’t have been too bad except that those potatoes where hard and I was having to use a lot of force to cut them. I was saved from having to get stitches because the blade hit my left thumbnail and cut through a quarter of it. Yes. That is as bad as it sounds. So, I’ve been short a digit and an opposable thumb, too. It still has to be bandaged so it’s hard to type. It was suggested that the accident was caused by my dead cat reaching out from the grave, getting even for all the times I rubbed his face in the fact that he lacked that bit of superiority. He’d owned me for 19 years and had a lot to make up for and now, I can’t get back at him. Or, it was my subconscious mind giving me a reminder that this needs to be addressed in my blog.

In our current society, it’s no problem when something like this happens. Yes, it’s painful and a major hassle, but it isn’t super serious. However, post collapse/disaster, when there won’t be emergency rooms or minor medical facilities available and this type of injury could be life threatening. It doesn’t have to be a deep cut, puncture wound or even a gunshot. A simple scratch not properly washed and kept clean can turn septic and deadly. In times of chaos after a society collapses or even after a huge natural disaster, clean safe water will be hard to find. Personal hygiene maybe hard, if not, impossible to maintain. Our first thoughts upon sustaining a minor injury will be what those thoughts have been our entire lives, something like, “Crap!!” or “Damn!”. If we even notice it at all. However, that is a form of “Normalcy Bias” that could be dangerous. What is “Normalcy Bias”? It’s thinking like you did before disaster hit or a collapse happened. It’s thinking that there will always be food available or the doctor will still be in. And nothing will be further from the truth.

In recent years, we Americans have been fed a constant stream of “Anti-bacterial” nonsense. We’ve sold hand santizers, anti-bacterial soap, facial tissue, bandages, sponges and a host of other products. The results of which are bacteria that are healthier than we are. If we have to go for extended periods with little or no washing, I’m not sure what the outcomes will be. One outcome (I know for sure) will be our body’s inability to fight off even the mildest of infections. Hence, a minor scratch will get infected, turn septic and kill you or cost you an extremity.

What can you do now to offset this? First and foremost, do NOT be afraid of a germ. Our bodies developed over thousands of years to live in harmony with certain bacteria on our skin. I am not an expert, I don’t know the names of these bacteria, how many there are or what they actually do. I do know, that we are meant to have some bacteria living on and in our bodies. I do know that we cannot live in isolation from the “germs” around us, that by trying to do so we’ve caused way more harm than we were told we were saving ourselves from.  We have left ourselves vulnerable to a host of diseases because our bodies have lost their ability to fight those diseases off. Post collapse/disaster this inability of our bodies to defend itself will kill as many people as starvation will. Maybe more.

Stock up on First Aid supplies: bandages of all sizes, gauze in rolls, gauze pads, “butterfly” closures, rubbing alcohol, hydrogen peroxide and anything else you can think of. Then buy it all again. Dollar General and Dollar Tree are excellent places to look.

Leave a Reply

